08 March 2018 | Sport

Schools team selected to face South Africa

The Namibian Endurance Riding Association has proudly announced its 2018 SANESA schools teams and their horses who have been selected to represent Namibia against a secondary and primary schools team from South Africa on Friday 23 March at the Stefanus Pienaar Memorial Ride at Sandune Lodge, Gobabis.

These athletes, along with their team manager, were granted national colours by the Namibian Sport Commission.

Secondary Schools team: Maya Janbey (team captain) and Atashi Sky, Jonel Coetzee and Johaco Que Vida, Caroline Neumann and Barakah Mahzu, Timothy Liebenberg and Shalom Naffal, Jaco Vermaak and Hurst Ghassan.

Primary schools team: Caila Potgieter (team captain) and Hurst Saigon, Leoné Janbey and Chilli Red, Ariane Neumann and Barakha Montasar, Carmen Derks and Kalharabi CD El-Arab, Soné Meeser and Johremar Odette Bint-Shakkarr. Team manager: Sylvia Janbey.

Organisers of the upcoming event would also like to thank the following people who have provided horses for use by the South African teams: Jan and Shanie Fourie, Jan Blauw, Jan van Blerk, Jan Pienaar, Pottie and Lientjie Potgieter, Judie Wiese and Riaan Verster, as well as Keith Keating from Sandune Stud and all their personnel, especially Riaan Verster for the lovely venue.